Machesney Scholarship in Computer Science

The Machesney Scholarship in Computer Science has been established to assist a Haywood County student who wishes to pursue a career in computer science field. Allan and Missy Machesney of Maggie Valley, Haywood County wish to encourage and facilitate those students seeking advanced education in the dynamic and challenging field of computer technology. The Machesney’s have created a one-time $1,000 scholarship. Mr. Machesney first developed an interest in computers as a result of a long-ago high school teacher who took his class on a field trip to a local Baltimore bank where he saw “magical” early computers processing the bank’s transactions. Following high school and military service Mr. Machesney received B.S. and MBA degrees from the University of Maryland in 1960, 1961. He began his career as a computer programmer and held the positions of Systems Analyst, Senior Systems Engineer, Project Manager, Branch Manager, Vice President, and President of computer software companies. He describes himself as a “computer software entrepreneur” who founded, managed and grew his companies. He eventually sold to public and private national companies. He would be the first to tell you that he owes much of his success to his wife Missy and the many men and women who helped him during his exciting and rewarding 40-year career.

Eligibility Criteria

• Haywood County Resident
• Graduating Senior from Haywood County Consolidated Schools
• Seeking a degree In Computer Science
• Scholastic Achievement
• Recommendation of appropriate high school faculty

Selection Process and Award
A selection committee will make a recommendation for the recipient of the scholarship. The selection process will consist of a review and evaluation of the scholarship applications. The Board of Directors of the Foundation will make the final decision on the recipient of this scholarship. The Board’s decision shall be final. The Haywood County Schools Foundation, a tax-exempt charitable foundation, will administer the scholarship fund.